MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING OF SCHOOL BOARD SUNMAN-DEARBORN COMMUNITY SCHOOL CORPORATION RIPLEY AND DEARBORN COUNTIES, INDIANA MAY 16, 2019

An Executive Session was held at 6:00 PM EST in the Administration Office of Sunman-Dearborn Community Schools. During the Executive Session, the Board discussed collective bargaining as per I.C. 5-14-1.5-6.1(b)(2)(A). The Board of Education will not discuss subject matter in the Executive Session other than the subject matter specified in the notice for the meeting.

The regular meeting of the Board of School Trustees of the Sunman-Dearborn Community School Corporation was held in the Library at East Central High School with the following individuals in attendance: Board Members Michael Norman, Brandon Burress, Glenn Scholl, Jamie Graf, Sara Hylton, Dawn Burke, Gary Gellert, School Attorney Frank Kramer, Superintendent Dr. Andrew Jackson, Director of Support Services Cindy Morton, Director of Financial Operations Mary Ann Baines, and Recording Secretary Cheri Huff.

Mr. Norman called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM EST leading the Pledge of Allegiance.

Dr. Jackson read the items on the consent agenda.

- 3.1 Approval of minutes for the Regular Board Meeting on April 11, 2019
- 3.2 Approval of claims for payment (135305-135576)
- 3.3 Approval of personnel report

Recommendation	ı for	Emp	lo	yment

Name **Building & Assignment** EC/Head Cheer Coach Morgan Mirus Megan Willoughby EC/Asst Cheer Coach Tracy Covert EC/After Prom Chair Amie Noeth EC/Homebound Teacher Christina Bedford MS/Cheer Coach

Accept Letter of Resignation

Name Building & Assignment Effective date Christy Dellapenta EC/Teacher 05/30/2019 05/04/2019 Kathryn Beckner EC/Homebound Teacher Megan Rader MS/Cheer Coach 04/15/2019 Brittany Crabill SE/Teacher 05/30/2019 Lauren Boesken SE/Teacher 05/30/2019

Accept Letter of Retirement

Building & Assignment Name Effective date Lisa Bruegge MS/Instructional Assistant 05/29/2019 Teresa Huy BE/Teacher 05/30/2019 Marcia Stenger SE/Food & Nutrition Associate 05/29/2019 Recommendation for Seasonal/Summer Staffing

Custodian I.T. Custodian Bus

Carol Hess Travis Bender Carol O'Shaughnessy Kilev Anthon Michaela Johnson Ryan Newhouse Ron Webb Luke Jackson Emily Eckstein Lisa Hempfling Marissa Johnson Katelyn Osman Judy Welte Heather Carr Heather Kidwell Jayme Pennington

Linda Gober

Summer Athletics Summer Office Brooke Stonefield Emma Hotopp Bryce Stonefield Colton Colegate Bill Owen Jessi Schwarz

3.4 Approval of overnight field trips

Dr. Jackson recommended that consent agenda items 3.1 through and including 3.4 be approved.

Mr. Scholl made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Hylton, to approve consent agenda items 3.1 through 3.4. The motion carried by voice vote.

Dr. Jackson recognized Susan Ketcham. Susan, along with her sister Lucy Gellert, presented their successful Lilly Teacher Creativity Grant. They plan on sharing their adventure when they return through a series of podcasts.

Dr. Jackson recognized Dave Deddens. Dave spoke on behalf of the Dearborn County Redevelopment Commission. They hope to continue the dialogue with the board and at some point in the future, reimburse money lost to the school through the Tax Incremental Finance (TIF) districts in our school corporation boundaries.

Dr. Jackson recognized the Principals to present their 2019-20 student handbooks. Dr. Jackson recommended that the Board approve the 2019-20 student handbooks as presented.

Mr. Graf made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Burke, to approve the 2019-20 student handbooks. The motion carried by voice vote.

Dr. Jackson recognized Barb Katenkamp to present the 2019-20 high ability handbook. Dr. Jackson recommended that the Board approve the 2019-20 high ability handbook as presented.

Mr. Gellert made a motion, seconded by Mr. Scholl, to approve the 2019-20 high ability handbook. The motion carried by voice vote.

Dr. Jackson recommended that the Board approve the 2019-20 administrator contracts as status quo.

Mrs. Burke made a motion, seconded by Mr. Burress, to approve the 2019-20 administrator contracts as presented. The motion carried by voice vote.

Dr. Jackson recognized Cindy Morton. Cindy presented information in regards to the textbook adoption for reading.

Dr. Jackson recommended that the Board approve to adopt Pearson for the K-8 reading textbook for the 2019-20 through the 2024-25 school years.

Mr. Graf made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Hylton, to approve the textbook adoption. The motion carried by voice vote.

Dr. Jackson recommended that the Board approve the 2019-20 K-5 book bills, eliminating all fees with the exception of a \$25 Chromebook fee.

Mrs. Burke made a motion, seconded by Mr. Scholl, to approve the book bills. The motion carried by voice vote.

There was no further discussion on the Dearborn County Redevelopment Commission revenue sharing request.

Mrs. Baines reviewed the financial reports for April 2019.

Mr. Norman asked for public comments. Dennis Siebert, father of a graduating senior, expressed his concern in regards to the decision to change the gown color.

Mr. Norman asked for SDEA comments. There were no comments.

Mr. Norman asked for Principal comments. Each of the building principals reported on various events in their buildings.

Mr. Norman asked for Superintendent comments. Dr. Jackson commented on several items including sectional championships won this school year, the accomplishments of the Academic Team, the Class of 2019 being the first full 4 year class since he started here, and positive results from a teacher survey regarding observations.

Mr. Norman asked the Board members for comments. Mr. Gellert encouraged kids to join the Summer Reading Quest at the Lawrenceburg Public Library this summer. Mr. Norman complimented the Middle School and High School band concerts.

There being no further business to discuss, Mr. Norman asked for a motion to adjourn. Mrs. Burke made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Hylton, to adjourn the meeting at 8:06 pm EST. The motion carried by voice vote.